About Kittymomma

My real name is Sara (Notice the lack of an H. Notice it!!) and I am a stay-at-home mom. I have a son named Max. I also had a daughter named Lucy, but I lost her recently. She suffered from dilated cardiomyopathy (enlarged heart). Although one of them is in Heaven now, I will always be a mom of two. I also have two cats, Angus and Fort, whom I love dearly. My beloved first pet, a beautiful Siamese cat named Belle, died in 2010. She was my first “baby”, hence the name “Kittymomma”. That name grew out of a nonsense song I made up for her.

My husband Chris and I live in Austin, TX, where I was employed as a bank teller, office assistant, and college English teacher in my previous life.

I am Irish Catholic by heritage and upbringing and a lapsed Catholic by choice, despite the fact that I attended six different Catholic schools between kindergarten and eighth grade. (The FDIC transferred my dad a lot.) Right now, yoga is the closest thing I have to a religion, although I do believe in a benevolent spirit, which created us all. I would still call myself a Christian, but I waver occasionally. I have been revisiting Catholicism since my daughter became ill.

I am a native Texan and proud of it, but I did live in Louisiana for four years and Georgia for a summer. I was born in Houston and grew up in East Texas, “the Piney Woods”. Longview, to be specific. Haven’t heard of Longview? I guess it’s biggest claim to fame is native son Matthew McConaughey. He was friends with my brother in high school, but I don’t know him, so I can’t hook you up. Sorry.

I consider Austin to be my hometown these days and I can’t imagine why anyone would want to live anywhere else, even with the horrendous allergies I developed the first year I lived here. (They don’t put THAT in the guidebooks.)

Besides, my husband, my kids, and my cats, my other favorite people in the world are the members of what I  have fondly dubbed my “patchwork” family. We mostly hailed from different families originally and have been “patched” together through divorce and remarriage. I have a mom, a stepdad, an older and younger brother, and a sister who’s four days younger than me. Oh, yeah, she’s my stepsister. (Still love saying that and watching people puzzle it out before I clarify our relationship.)

I am estranged from my own father (Although I still call him “Dad”, so don’t blame my stepdad for any misdeeds ascribed to “Dad” on this blog.), but adore my in-laws. I feel very lucky in that respect.

Through this blog, I am endeavoring to embrace the title of “writer”. That is what I’ve always wanted to be (besides a mom), so I am going for it.

2 Comments

  1. Emily said,

    November 7, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    Hi! I read your piece on Mamalode today. Thank you for sharing your experience and for looking for beauty and positivity. You are a beautiful writer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: